Department Home Atmospheric Science Geology and Geophysics Geography

Department of Geosciences

Faculty Directory

Name / Title Email Office / Phone

Ancell, Brian, Associate Professor
Atmospheric Science


brian.ancell@ttu.edu

1216 Media & Comm Bldg
(806) 834-3143

Asquith, George B., Professor, Pevehouse Chair Emeritus
Carbonate Petrology Petrophysics


george.asquith@ttu.edu

332 Science Building
(806) 834-7861

Barnes, Calvin G., Professor and Undergraduate Advisor
Igneous Petrology and Geochemistry


cal.barnes@ttu.edu

328 Science Building
(806) 834-7389

Barrick, James E., Professor
Micropaleontology and Biostratigraphy


jim.barrick@ttu.edu

222 Science Building
(806) 834-2717

Bruning, Eric, Associate Professor
Atmospheric Science


eric.bruning@ttu.edu

1209 Media & Comm Bldg
(806) 834-3120

Cao, Guofeng, Assistant Professor and Co-Director, CGST
Geography and Geographic Information Systems


guofeng.cao@ttu.edu

211 Holden Hall
(806) 834-8920

Carter, Perry L., Associate Professor
Geography


perry.carter@ttu.edu

210 Holden Hall
(806) 834-6209

Chatterjee, Sankar, Horn Professor
Vertebrate Paleontology


sankar.chatterjee@ttu.edu

220 Science Building
(806) 834-4590

Dahl, Johannes, Assistant Professor
Atmospheric Science


johannes.dahl@ttu.edu

1215 Media & Comm Bldg
(806) 834-6197

Elbow, Gary, Professor
Geography


gary.elbow@ttu.edu

210 McClellan Hall
(806) 834-0354

Gurrola, Harold, Associate Professor
Seismology


harold.gurrola@ttu.edu

311 Science Building
(806) 834-8625

Hetherington, Callum J., Assoc. Professor, Graduate Advisor
Mineralogy and Geochemistry


callum.hetherington@ttu.edu

127 Science Building
(806) 834-3110

Horita, Juske, Professor
Stable Isotope Geochemistry


juske.horita@ttu.edu

216 Science Building
(806) 834-7027

Kang, Song Lak, Assistant Professor
Atmospheric Science


song-lak.kang@ttu.edu

1213 Media & Comm Bldg
(806) 834-1139

Karlsson, Haraldur, R., Associate Professor
Stable Isotope Geochemistry


hal.karlsson@ttu.edu

207 Science Building
(806) 834-7978

Lee, Jeffrey A., Professor and Chair
Geography


jeff.lee@ttu.edu

125 Science Building
(806) 834-8228

Lehman, Thomas L., Professor
Clastic Sedimentology


tom.lehman@ttu.edu

236 Science Building
(806) 834-3148

Leverington, David, Associate Professor
Remote Sensing & Planetary Science


david.leverington@ttu.edu

316 Science Building
(806) 834-5310

Mulligan, Kevin R., Associate Professor,
Geography and Geographic Information Systems


kevin.mulligan@ttu.edu

215 Holden Hall
(806) 834-0391

Nagihara, Seiichi, Associate Professor
Geophysics and Geographic Information Systems


seiichi.nagihara@ttu.edu

314 Science Building
(806) 834-4481

Nellis, M. Duane, Professor and Past President Texas Tech University, Geography and Remote Sensing


duane.nellis@ttu.edu

204A McClellen Hall
(806) 742-1828

Peterson, Richard E., Professor Emeritus
Atmospheric Science


richard.peterson@ttu.edu

1115 Media & Comm Bldg
(806) 834-3418

Rainwater, Ken, Professor, Joint with Civil Engineering
Water Resources Management, Groundwater Hydrology


ken.rainwater@ttu.edu

203-D Civil Engineering
(806) 834-7775

Ridley, Moira K., Professor
Aqueous Geochemistry


moira.ridley@ttu.edu

324 Science Bldg
(806) 834-0627

Schroeder, John, Professor
Atmospheric Science


john.schroeder@ttu.edu

1205 Media & Comm Bldg
(806) 834-5678

Segvic, Branimir, Assistant Professor
Clay Mineralogy


branimir.segvic@ttu.edu

227 Science Building
(806) 834-2041

Solis, Patricia, Research Associate Professor and Co-Director Center for Geospatial Technology, Geography


patricia.solis@ttu.edu

211 Holden Hall
(469) 200-1276

Souders, Kate, Research Assistant Professor
Isotope Geochemistry & Geochronology, In-situ Microanalysis


kate.souders@ttu.edu

155 Exp Sciences Bldg
(806) 834-....

Sweet, Dustin, Assistant Professor
Sedimentology and Stratigraphy


dustin.sweet@ttu.edu

318 Science Bdlg
(806) 834-8390

Sylvester, Paul, Professor and Pevehouse Chair
Mineral Geochemistry, Geochronology of Sedimentary Systems


paul.sylvester@ttu.edu

205 Science Building
(806) 834-5091

Vanos, Jennifer, Assistant Professor
Atmospheric Science


jennifer.vanos@ttu.edu

1207 Media & Comm Bldg
(806) 834-3319

Weiss, Chris, Associate Professor
Atmospheric Science


chris.weiss@ttu.edu

1211 Media & Comm Bldg
(806) 834-4712

Wang, Shuo, Research Assistant Professor
Atmospheric Sciences


shuo.wang@ttu.edu

1115 Media & Comm Bldg
(806) 786-6877

Wang, Yonggang, Research Assistant Professor
Atmospheric Sciences


yonggang.wang@ttu.edu

1113 Media & Comm Bldg
(806) 834-2721

Yoshinobu, Aaron S., Professor
Structural Geology and Tectonics


aaron.yoshinobu@ttu.edu

231 Science Building
(806) 834-7715

Zhu, Zhe, Assistant Professor
Remote Sensing


zhe.zhu@ttu.edu

217 Holden Hall
(806) 834-7859

Instructors

Name / Title Email Office / Phone

Barbato, Lucia, Instructor
Geographic Information Science and Technology


lucia.barbato@ttu.edu

118 Exp Sciences Bldg
(806) 834-8999

Cobb, Steve, Instructor
Atmospheric Science


steve.cobb@ttu.edu

1203 Media & Comm Bldg
(806) 834-1395

Griffith, Cameron, Instructor
Geographic Information Science and Technology


cameron.griffith@ttu.edu

204 Holden Hall
(806) 834-3737.

Jones, Linda Lea, Instructor
Geography


linda.jones@ttu.edu

213 Holden Hall
(806) 834-8197

Weaver, Justin, Instructor
Atmospheric Science


justin.e.weaver@ttu.edu

1203 Media & Comm Bldg
(806) 834-4610

Senior Research Associates

Name / Title Email Office / Phone

Barnes, Melanie, Senior Research Associate
Igneous Petrology & Geochemistry, Laser-Ablation ICP Mass Spectrometry


melanie.barnes@ttu.edu

217 Science Building
(806) 928-1098

Zhao, Bo, Senior Research Associate
Scanning Electron Microscopy


bo.zhao@ttu.edu

112 Exp Sciences Bldg(806) 384-0345

Post Doctoral Research Associates

Name / Title Email Office / Phone

Liu, Ying, Post Doctoral Research Associate
Geography


ying.liu@ttu.edu

123 Exp Sciences Bldg
(806) 834-....

Zhao, Naizhou, Post Doctoral Research Associate
Geography


naizhuo.zhao@ttu.edu

123 Exp Sciences Bldg
(806) 834-....

Adjunct Scientists

Name / Title Email Office / Phone

William Asquith, Research Hydrogeologist & Adjunct Scientist Hydrogeology.


wasquith@usgs.gov

213 Science Building
(806) 742-3129

David Bish, Haydn Murray Chair of Applied Clay Minerology, Indiana University, Minerology


bish@indiana.edu

(812) 855-2039

Peter Holterhoff, Senior Geologic Advisor, Hess Corporation.
Carbonate Petrology, Sedimentology, Sequence Stratigraphy


peter.holterhoff@ttu.edu

(713) 609-5000

Kenneth S. Johnson, Assistant Professor, Geology & Geochemistry, University of Houston. Igneous Petrology


johnsonk@uhd.edu

(713) 222-5375

Gregory P. McGovern, Instructor. West Texas A&M University
Organometallic Synthesis, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance


gmcgovern@wtamu.edu

(806) 651-8043

Nathan McSloy, Adjunct Scientist. U.S. Geological Survey
Hydrology


njmcslow@usgs.gov

(806) 742-3129

Victor Polyak, Senior Research Scientist, Department of Earth & Planetary Sciences, University of New Mexico. Speleology


polyak@unm.edu

(505) 277-4444

Veniamin B. Polyakov, Leading Scientist, Insitute of Experimental Minerology RAS, Russia. Geochemistry


polyakov@iem.ac.ru

Erik Rasmussen, Rasmussen Systems LLC
Severe Storm Analysis


rasm1@rasmsys.com

(806) 834-6870

John Stout, Physical Scientist, USDA Wind Erosion & Water Conservation Research Unit. Aeolian Geomorphology


john.stout@ars.usda.gov

(806) 723-5239